News Flash Home
The original item was published from 3/6/2023 2:24:00 PM to 3/6/2023 2:50:04 PM.

News Flash

Town News

Posted on: March 6, 2023

[ARCHIVED] Zionsville Fire Department honors employees during ceremony

Zionsville Fire Department badge

Members of the Zionsville Fire Department gathered Saturday for the 24th annual ZFD Firefighter’s Ball and Awards Banquet to honor firefighters for their efforts and actions in 2022.  

The department announces the following awards for 2022:  

  • Probationary Firefighter of the Year – Raymond Kline
  • EMT of the Year – Evan Latty
  • Paramedic of the Year – Anthony Ammerman
  • Cody Richardson Memorial Firefighter of the Year – Sean Mitchell
  • Local 5195 Leadership Award – Matt Quigley

Lifesaving Awards

Firefighter/Paramedic Walter Leverich, Firefighter Shelby Freese, Firefighter John Ball, Firefighter Eddie Frank, Lt. Steve Hayes and Battalion Chief Ryan Sparks received a Lifesaving Award. The crew responded swiftly to save a 22-year-old man in cardiac arrest.

Firefighter/Paramedic Neil Valestin, Firefighter JJ Anderson, Firefighter Sean Mitchell, Engineer Scott Plummer and Capt. Todd Scales also received a Lifesaving Award. Their rapid response provided lifesaving care to a 62-year-old man.

Unit Commendation Awards

Firefighter Elizabeth Campbell, Tad Henderson, Firefighter Evan Latty, Firefighter/Paramedic Joey Goltz, Firefighter Dalton Folger-Macy, Engineer Bobby Smith, Engineer Joe Weder, Lt. Mitch Young, Firefighter Nathan Oakes, Firefighter Dustin Campins, Engineer Ryan Luttrull, Lt. Scott Peters, Firefighter Benji Johnson, Firefighter John Ball, Lt. Casey Curtis and Battalion Chief Ryan Sparks received a Unit Commendation Award for their response to a house fire on Christmas Eve. Despite the extreme sub-zero temperatures, they worked as team to extinguish a fire. 

Firefighter/Paramedic Matt Quigley, Firefighter DJ Martin, Firefighter Dalton Folger-Macy, Engineer Andrew Cammarata, Lt. Walter Leverich, Firefighter Shane Daugherty, Firefighter Kellen Holt, Engineer Bobby Smith, Lt. Casey Curtis and Capt. Brian Miller also received a Unit Commendation Award. The crew responded to a motor vehicle accident with a car settling in water following a high-speed collision.  

Congratulations to all members of the ZFD!

Click Here for Full Press Release
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Town News